We Had An Earthquake

Hello sweet peas

I just wanted to write a quick post just to let you know about the earthquake we had last night. I’m not sure how wide spread the news is internationally of it, so I guess it’s probably news to you!

Last night at 12:02am there was a 7.5 magnitude earthquake centred in Cheviot/ Hanmer Springs. It was the biggest earth quake we’ve ever had, bigger than the 22 of February in 2011 which hit Christchurch majorly. Where I live it was just a huge shake that seemed to go on forever. I remembered to get in the doorway, and so I scooped up my cat and held onto her in the doorway for the duration of the quake. But everything is alright where I live. However, tsunami warnings were dispersed up the east coast overnight, and the coastal town of Kaikoura is being evacuated. Quite a few areas were evacuated, and some still have yet to be reached. Wellington faced fears of tsunami and there were worries about the port.

All over New Zealand today was the day of the level one science exam, and a lot of students were unable to attend the exam! Luckily my school was open, so I did sit it, although there were lots of after shocks which was a bit scary! Throughout the next couple of months (ParticularlyΒ in the next week or so) we will be experiencing after shocks, some which are quite big! We had a 6.3 at around 1:35 pm

All my best wishes are with all those who have been affected by the earthquake, and I hope everyone is safe, and will have a warm bed tonight. For those of you overseas I hope this has been a bit more information for you, if you had heard of it but not much! πŸ™‚ All my fellow kiwis I hope you are all alright! πŸ™‚

Please keep New Zealand in your hearts and prayers today, as well as all those effected by earthquakes, such as Italy who have had a lot of horrifying earthquakes recently.

I look forward to talking to you again with another post… hopefully not about earthquakes!Β  πŸ™‚7-5-earth-quake

Also a huge thank you to the Stylish Dreamer for your amazing messages this morning πŸ™‚ You really cheered me up πŸ™‚ xx

Until next time

Lui xx

32 thoughts on “We Had An Earthquake

    1. aw thank you so much πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ mostly it was just the northern Canterbury region that was affected, so luckily everyone around me were alright πŸ™‚ thank you so much for ur concern, it really means a lot πŸ™‚ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

