Don’t Hate What You Don’t Know

Hey sweet peas!! πŸ˜€

So,Β I guess lately you can tell i have been feeling quite strongly about topical issues πŸ˜€ And recentlyΒ I was reading a quote that said “don’t hate what you dont know”, and i just clicked with it! Because i think a lot of the hate in the world is caused by ignorance. things like sexism, racism, homophobia, and hating on someone because of their religion is just completely ignorance based in my opinion. Not saying that’s an excuse – quite the opposite really!

In my Religious Studies class the other day we were talking about how we are going to learn about world religions (so excited!!), and our teacher asked why it could be important for us to learn about them. I was the only person who put their hand up, and my answer involved things like the racism towards muslims, and how our ignorance only fueled this. My teacher brought up what’s happening in Syria with ISIS, and asked us if we knew what was going on, and to be honestΒ I don’t think any of us really knew. I mean, I know a bit, and my brother knows a lot about it (he reads a lot), and i know the stuff i see on TV, but do i know the religious significance?

So my goal this year is to start to understand a lot more about what is going on in the world, and to put aside my ignorance. As it is, i identify as an activist for change towards sexism, racism, homophobia, and the racism associated with religious identity. I really wish that things like the colour of your skin, your gender, your religion, or your sexuality (because let’s be honest, whose business is it?) didn’t shape how others view you.

I would really love to hear all your thoughts on these issues, and what your goals are for yourself this year. πŸ™‚

Until next time πŸ™‚

Lui xx

(p.s., sorry if i didn’t reply to your comments straight away on my last post, but my computer wouldn’t let me post anything lol) πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “Don’t Hate What You Don’t Know

  1. This is a great goal and post, Lui!! I myself am Muslim, although I don’t wear a hijab (the traditional headscarf), and I’ve been plagued by a lot of racism or Islamophobia a number of times; it really doesn’t help when there is a leader who is strongly against Muslim’s, because it gives people a chance to hate more – although not all people are like that, the plus is that people like you and I (and many others, too!) who are open to diversity of all types, can get the chance to stand up and voice their strong opinions against the so called ignorance, that even you spoke of in your post. In my opinion, not a lot of people understand the meaning of certain religions like mine, because of what is portrayed in the media with violence and hate crimes, some people just kinda assume things that are rumoured around the media or internet that aren’t actually the facts. You are right, it is our job to put our ignorance aside. This year, I really want to be open and not as afraid and openly stand up against those who are hating not just against religions, but different races, gender, and all types of diversity. We are the youth; the young leaders of tomorrow – I think that it’s our job to shape a better future, and by voicing our opinions in any way that is positive will diminish most or maybe even all forms of ignorance and hatred one day.

    So sorry for the rant, haha!! πŸ˜› Loved your post xx

    Aqsa ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you so much for ur amazing comment!!!!! I am so grateful that u have shared this, and thank you for giving me a bit more knowledge!!! and I completely agree – I really wish that being Muslim didn’t become synonymous with “terrorism” because it is so completely untrue and saddens me. I am so sorry that u have ever had to experience other peoples misled prejudices and ignorance, and I hope that u can take ur experiences and use them for good πŸ™‚ which I know u r! ❀ and I completely agree about us being the new generation! we can determine how the world will paly out for the future πŸ™‚ thank you for ur hope, and love πŸ™‚
      Lui xxx

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Aw, no problem!! Unfortunately, it’s going to take a long time to change people’s views about Muslims and my religion – but like you said, I really want to change that by voicing the truth that I know for a fact is actually true (I might just post a rant about this sometime, haha!!). Your comment means so much to me, Lui – thank you so much πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀

        Aqsa ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. that’s alright!! and yes that’s true. But I can’t wait to see what you have to say about it πŸ˜‰ ❀ and do tell me when u post about it!! I can't wait to read it! and thanks! it means a lot to know I'm spreading a bit of positivity haha πŸ™‚ ❀ xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lui you never seize to amaze me with your beautiful open minded thought provoking post! You are very knowledgeable for your age and that fact that you’re self willingly wanting to educate yourself more on world matters is wonderful. Good for you girlie! I only wish there were more mindsets out there like yours!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 2 people

    1. aw thank you so much!! πŸ™‚ it really means a lot to hear that πŸ™‚ if I can just make a small amount of difference in the world I will be happy πŸ˜‰ ❀ πŸ˜€ thank you so much for ur support πŸ™‚ ❀ xx

      Liked by 2 people

  3. This post was just amazing!! I feel happier after reading your posts. I think it’s because I can relate so much to what you are saying. I know a few people that are not open minded to this topics and it really is terrible that some people are judging other people based on their religion sexualtiy, etc.. We are all human and equal and should all be respected in the same way.
    It’s really cool that you are learning more about what is happening around the world! I am also trying to learn about what is happening in the countries that are sadly in war as I have a few friends (who are also good friends with the rest of my family) who came from Syria as refugees. As we speak English my parents taught their children English for school. I helped with french.
    Again this post was so good! ❀️ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. that’s amazing!! it must be interesting, and actually really educating for u to know people who have first-hand experienced the refugee crisis. I guess its a lot more of a big thing for u in Europe, than it is for us all the way over here. its absolutely amazing and selfless of u to help ur friends πŸ™‚ ❀ its people like u who matter in the world πŸ™‚
      and thank you so much for ur kind words!! I am so glad to see someone else agreeing with me on these issues πŸ™‚ gives me hope ❀ xx

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Its a great goal..I hope you learn loads, not only about Islam but many other religions. Your post is amazing and only if people would try thinking more like you then world could be a better place.
    Good luck and I’m always here if you have any queries regarding Islam 😊❀ xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

