Taking Risks in Life

Hello sweet peas!! 😀

Today I want to talk to you about something that has been on my mind recently, and every time has worked out (yay!).

I’m talking about jumping in with two feet first, taking the bull by the horns, and stepping out your comfort zone and taking some risks.

Good risks – not bad ones!

In my year 11 speech last year I talked about the difference between risk and danger. Risk is when you are a bit uncertain of the outcome, and no matter the outcome it will have an  effect on you. Danger is when you can pretty much guarantee something bad is going to happen.

My example last year was walking in front of a bus. If you walk out in front of a bus, and it is directly in front of you, I can pretty much guarantee its not going to end well. Thus its a danger. whereas, if you leave plenty of time, and space between you and the bus  you are most likely going to get across the road in time, pretty unscathed – unless your teacher catches you doing that and you get a detention haha! (That’s what happens at my school since we are next to a big road – I still demand that my friends hold my hand when I cross it!).

I don’t know if that analogy clarified anything, but that’s why I’ll give you a few examples that have been very applicable for me.

  • Talking to a boy!! Oh my gosh, this is the big one when you’re a teenager! talking to someone you fancy is like standing next to Mt Cook (New Zealand’s tallest mountain lol!) and being expected to make it to the top with no equipment! You’ll be on unfamiliar ground, you don’t know what will happen, and by the time you get there you’ll be a sweaty out-of-breath mess! (lol, maybe not!). However, as soon as you have broken the ice everything is uphill from there. Once you know where you stand with someone its a lot easier to relax and enjoy yourself!

So, my tips!

  • Don’t overthink it. The greatest advice my swimming coach ever gave me – yes, I managed to overthink swimming! I know, I’m a special one.
  • Don’t wait for the “perfect moment” to do it – sometimes you just have to take a deep breath and go for it! Whenever I talk to someone new I always have that moment of hesitation, but I just have to tell myself to just push through it! 🙂
  • Be resilient. Sometimes we don’t get the outcome we wanted, but you just need to brush yourself off, and try again! Don’t let one bad experience or person ruin something for you 🙂

So I hope I have inspired you to take some good risks! Remember if you genuinely don’t think a situation is good, don’t stay in it. Gut feeling is pretty amazing 😉 ❤

It’s being able to distinguish between risk and danger, nerves and fear, what we do and have yet know, that enables us to live our lives to the fullest! 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts and stories about this, and of course any tips!! 😀

I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend 🙂

Lui xx

30 thoughts on “Taking Risks in Life

  1. I have taken a lot of good risks in the past few months, all with great results! It has made me more confident and helped me know more people!
    This post will definitely inspire those who yet to come out under the light! Keep inspiring people, Lui! xxx ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a good reminder to always keep in the back of your mind. I love your example with talking to a boy- I remember those days, and its true the best way to go about it or any situation for that matter is to not over think it, just let it happen and do it! Jumping with both feet sometimes leads to the best journey 🙂

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

